FLOC President Receives Fred L. Shuttlesworth Humanitarian Award

FLOC founder and president Baldemar Velasquez was honored with The Rev. Fred L. Shuttlesworth Humanitarian Award on Thursday, March 20, 2014 at Bowling Green State University.

President Velasquez is a highly respected national and international leader not only in the farm labor movement, but also in the Latino and immigrant rights Movements. Velasquez’s vision and convictions continue to drive the efforts of FLOC in winning justice for migrant workers. He has become a recognized grass-roots leader and diplomat in the farm labor movement, immigrant rights movement, and social justice movements, in the U.S. and around the world.

The Rev. Fred L. Shuttlesworth Humanitarian Award is given annually to recognize the individual, group, or organization that best epitomizes Rev. Shuttlesworth’s commitment to social justice, civil rights, and broadening opportunities for all Americans. The award and recognition are intended to express appreciation, to encourage continued efforts, and to identify the recipient as an example for the many others who share the same goals.

Nominees of the Rev. Fred L. Shuttlesworth Humanitarian Award were considered in light of the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated commitment to securing and advancing the ideals of equity, opportunity, and diversity in American society.
  • Principled leadership and perseverance in efforts to achieve social justice, in a manner which serves as a model to inspire and motivate social justice advocates throughout Ohio and beyond.
  • Extraordinary contributions affecting legal, social, or political policies or programs in pursuit of freedom, civil liberties and civil rights in behalf of all Americans.
  • Courage and self-sacrifice in resisting tyranny or brutality, in pursuing the ideals represented by the Award.

“I feel so humbled and grateful to be given this honor,” commented Velasquez. “I remember when Reverend Shuttlesworth joined us at a picket in Cincinnati during the Mt. Olive Pickle Boycott. He was a great leader in the Civil Rights movement and it is an honor to carry on the movement in his name with this award.”